How to learn KP Astrology

How to learn KP Astrology

KP Astrology is the short form of Krishnamurti Paddhati Astrology. Read on to know how to learn KP Astrology.

KP Astrology is the short form of Krishnamurti Paddhati Astrology. This unique system provides accurate predictions for an event, using tools and techniques devised by late Prof. K. S. Krishnamurti. It is a very effective system which is based on cusp treatment.

In KP astrology, the horoscope is a little different from the traditional horoscope. For one, it provides comparatively more information. Usually, a KP horoscope shows the positions of the 12 planets and the 12 houses.  KP Astrology uses the Placidus House division system. This system comes from Western astrology, where the houses are not of equal size, as in traditional astrology.  In KP, all houses are not of equal size of 30 degree, so it may be the case that sometimes no house might fall into a sign or sometimes more than one house may fall into a sign. 

To create a KP chart, the positions of 12 planets and 12 houses are needed. The information can be obtained in two ways: -

1. Use some software, which needs just date, time and place.
2. Calculate the positions  manually using certain tables

Manual calculation can be a tedious process. You can also use free software for creating a KP chart.

The Star Lord:

There are 27 stars lying scattered along the zodiac belt. All of them are allotted to 9 planets (3 each) in the order of Vimshotthari dasa system. The planet that owns a star is the “star lord” for that planet. So each planet in the horoscope will be both in a sign as well as a star. Hence, planets will be in conjoined influence of the star lord and the sign lord.  According to Prof. Krishnamurti, the star lord has a greater influence than the sign lord. The sign helps us to know the strength of the planet. It should also be noted if the planet is in a sign that is congenial to its nature or not. Features of the sign like gender, element, expression etc., should also be noted. If the Sun in Aries, it should be noted that the Sun is in a fiery, positive, and movable sign and is very strong, going by sign position.
The star lord compels the planet to offer the results indicated by the star lord for a horoscope. Otherwise, a planet’s results are reflected through the stars it owns and offered by the planets that tenant them. Hence, the planet will indicate the star lord’s results during its periods and sub periods, or when any planet happens to move its stars in transit. For example, for Aries Ascendant, Venus is the lord of 2-7 houses. Any planet that is in the stars of Venus will offer the results of 2-7 houses irrespective of whether it is in 1, 5, or 9 houses.

In case there is any planet in a house, it will indicate the matters of that house even more strongly than the house owner. A planet will indicate the matters represented by the houses it owns, as Bhava lord, when those houses are not occupied by any planet. According to KSK, “tenant is stronger than owner”, and if the tenant is not present, only then will the sign lord have influence over the matters of that house. All significations of a planet will be reflected through its stars. Therefore, we have the following four rules to find out how planets are “connected” with a house in the order of strength.

1.    Planets in the stars of occupants
2.    Occupants
3.    Planets in the stars of House owner
4.    House owner
5.    Planets conjoined or aspected by 1- 4 above.

In this manner, we have to see which planets are “significators” of a house. Significators for all the 12 houses must be tabulated for convenience.

All KP astrologers may not use all the 12 planets.

The 12 houses in Hindu astrology are referred as Bhava or Ghar. Every house has certain significations assigned by the ancient sages. For example, the 1st house signifies self and health, the 2nd house signifies family and finance, the 3rd house for brother and courage, the 4th house for mother and vehicles, and so on.

If a house is good, one gets good results related to it. For example, if the 1st house is good in one’s horoscope, one’s health will be good. But if the first house is bad, one’s health will be affected, and one may even die early. Different systems of astrology have different rules for judging the houses. KP System, too, has different rules.  


A Cusp is the point at which two houses meet. The starting point of a house is the cusp of that house. Sometimes 'cusp' and 'house' are used interchangeably. In KP, lord of the cusp has the same meaning as lord of the house.

In KP Astrology, only Vimshottari Dasa is used. Other dasas like Kalchakra, Ashtottari, Yogini, and Chara Dasa etc. are never used.

You can learn KP Astrology online, as some sites offer KP Astrology classes on the internet. 

Write a Comment